Some people come here for my Fortran page. Others want my PhD thesis titled Quantum Waveguide Theory (which is available from the UWA library) or my Honours thesis titled Quantum Chaos in Second Harmonic Generation - Stu.

Thursday 8 April 2010

2010 Australian Canoe Polo Champs

April 3 to 5 saw the 2010 Australian Canoeing Canoe Polo Championships held at Champion Lakes, Armadale. The fantastic venue was witness to some fast and furious games, culminating in the Open Mens grand final which started with a large collision and jettisoned ball and ended with a magnificent power goal in extra time. South Australia continued its dominance of the sport at a national level, winning 4 of the 5 divisions contested. All competitors, officials and spectators hailed the event a success and were impressed with the venue.


  1. South Australia 1 
  2. NSW 
  3. Victoria 1 
  4. South Australia 2 
  5. Western Australia 1 
  6. Victoria 2 
  7. Western Australia 2 
  1. South Australia 
  2. Western Australia 
Under 21 
  1. South Australia 1 
  2. South Australia 2 
  3. Western Australia 
Veterans (35+) 
  1. Western Australia 1 
  2. Draft (mixed team) 
  3. Western Australia 2
Masters (45+) 
  1. South Australia 
  2. Western Australia 
School Championship 
  1. Champion Lakes Boating Club 
  2. Mandurah Paddle Club 
The championships were also the final selection event for the Australian Teams to compete in Milan, Italy. Western Australia was well represented in the teams with Jeremy Lee being selected for the Under 21 team and Niki Lee and Libby LeCoultre making the Womens team. Congratulations.

Each canoe polo team consists of between 5-8 players with 5 on the water per team at any given time (upto 3 substitute players). Games are played in a 35m x 23m field and consist of two 10 minute halves. As the only full contact paddling sport, canoe polo is exciting team sport requiring great paddling, ball handling and tactical skills. Despite a game only lasting 20 minutes, competitors require great strength and endurance to see a game through.

Australia has a strong history in canoe polo, dominating the sport from the late 80's till the early naughties. The mens team won the World Championships in 1994, 1996 and 1998. While the womens team won the World Championships in 1994 and 1998, and claimed silver in 1996 and 2002. Recent success includes a strong showing at the World Games in Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei, where the mens team claimed bronze.

The competition organisers would like to thank all sponsors and supporters of the event:

Australian Canoeing
Canoeing Western Australia Inc
Perth Canoe Polo Club
Heart Foundation
Department of Sport and Recreation
Sage Automation
Kayaks Plus
Mainpeak Paddlesports
Champions Lakes Regatta Centre
Armadale Redevelopment Authority
Scouts Australia,Canoe_Polo/77/2230/

No comments:

Post a Comment